LOCAL ELECTIONS 2023 - Bromsgrove District Council candidates and wards - The Bromsgrove Standard

LOCAL ELECTIONS 2023 - Bromsgrove District Council candidates and wards

Bromsgrove Editorial 2nd May, 2023 Updated: 5th May, 2023   0

For all the results in the Bromsgrove District Council elections click here.

RESIDENTS across Bromsgrove will be heading to the polls on Thursday, May 4, for the district council elections.

There will be 31 seats up for grabs – the election of the whole council. There are 30 wards with one ward, Belbroughton and Romsley having two seats in it – all the others have one.

Currently, there are 31 councillors with the Conservatives the majority party, having 18 members.

The others are made up of six Independents, three each for Labour and the Liberal Democrats and one Wythall Residents Association / Independent.

Polling Stations open from 7am to 10pm and the count will take place the day after, Friday, May 5.

You can read more about each parties’ candidates and pledges on our previous stories –



Liberal Democrats


Green Party

Click here to see the parties’ plans for five key issues in Bromsgrove.

Here are the candidates in each of the wards –  

Alvechurch South

Alan Bailes (Independent)

Eric Godfrey (Labour Party)

Spencer Loades (Conservative Party)

Elizabeth Nicholl (Liberal Democrats)


Alvechurch Village

Rachael Bailes (Independent)

Martin Ball (Green Party)

Martin McLeod (Labour Party)

Rebecca Stevens (Liberal Democrats)

Barry Thornton (Conservative Party)


Aston Fields

Kyle Daisley (Conservative Party)

Jane Elledge (Labour Party)

Martine Reynolds (Liberal Democrats)

Nick Trow (Green Party)



John Ellis (Labour Party)

David Nicholl (Liberal Democrats)

Philip Thomas (Conservative Party)


Barnt Green and Hopwood

Kiran Gulia (Labour Party)

Charlie Hotham (Independent)

Amritjot Nannar (Conservative Party)


Belbroughton and Romsley (two seats)

Ros Cooke (Labour Party)

Stan Francis (Independent)

Susan Jones (Independent)

Karen May (Conservative Party)

Simon Nock (Conservative Party)

Gary Prescott (Independent)


Bromsgrove Central*

Luv Datta (Conservative Party)

David Peters (Labour Party)

Siobhan Robinson (Liberal Democrats)

*Click here for more information on this ward.


Catshill North

Mohammed Amin (Conservative Party)

Martin German (Liberal Democrats)

Andrew Glanville (Labour Party)

Bernard McEldowney (Independent)


Catshill South

Barbara Murphy (Liberal Democrats)

Jenny Smith (Labour Party)

Shirley Webb (Conservative Party)



Sam Ammar (Labour Party)

Gillian Bell (Liberal Democrats)

Sam Johnson (Conservative Party)



Anita Dale (Conservative Party)

Jill Harvey (Green Party)

Christine McDonald (Labour Party)

David Nicklin (Liberal Democrats)

Drakes Cross

Sue Baxter (Independent)

Alan Bell (Liberal Democrats)

Trevor Holman (Conservative Party)

Matt Tovey (Green Party)


Hagley East

Mark Gibbons (Liberal Democrats)

Lorraine Johnson (Independent)

Ruth Lambert (Conservative Party)


Hagley West

Steven Colella (Independent)

Susan Robbins (Green Party)

Jayne Willetts (Conservative Party)


Hill Top

Martin Connellan (Conservative Party)

David Hopkins (Labour Party)

Chloe Leslie (Trade Unionist and Social Coalition)

Sara Woodhouse (Liberal Democrats)



Douglas Bridger (Labour Party)

Alexander Forsythe (Conservative Party)


Lickey Hills

John Cochrane (Labour Party)

Janet King (Liberal Democrats)

Bakul Kumar (Conservative Party)


Lowes Hill

Rod Laight (Conservative Party)

Joshua Robinson (Liberal Democrats)



Mason Cherrington (Reform UK)

Alan Cooper (Labour Party)

Peter Harvey (Green Party)

Helen Jones (Conservative Party)



Robert Hunter (Liberal Democrats)

Kumar Muniandy (Conservative Party)



Anthony Maslen (Labour Party)

Joanna McKenna (Liberal Democrats)

Kit Taylor (Conservative Party)


Rock Hill

Christopher Appleyard (Liberal Democrats)

Harrison Rone-Clarke (Labour Party)

Lee Rowley (Green Party)

Richard Williams (Conservative Party)


Rubery North

Andrew Beaumont (Conservative Party)

Peter McDonald (Labour Party)


Rubery South

Esther Gray (Labour Party)

Julian Gray (Green Party)

Nick Psirides (Conservative Party)

Sanders Park

Mark Boulton (Conservative Party)

Mick Marshall (Labour Party)

David Pardoe (Independent)

Vanessa Verlinden (Liberal Democrats)



Judi Byrne (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition)

James Clarke (Liberal Democrats)

Henry Morris (Conservative Party)

David Stewart (Labour Party)



Samuel Evans (Liberal Democrats)

Michael Thompson (Conservative Party)



Valerie Clarke (Liberal Democrats)

Sean Shannon (Labour Party)

John Smout (Green Party)

Peter Whittaker (Conservative Party)


Wythall East

Justin Stanley (Conservative Party)

Keith Yates (Independent)


Wythall West

Geoff Denaro (Conservative Party)

Stephen Peters (Independent)


VOTER ID – Make sure you are ID OK for Polling Day

AS VOTERS head to the polls on Thursday, May 4, people are being reminded to take their voter ID.

For the first time this year, those casting their ballot in person will need to show identification to prove who they are at the polling station.

Research suggests up to a third of voters in the West Midlands are still unaware of the need for ID.

Among the accepted types are a UK, European Economic Area (EEA) or Commonwealth passport, a driving licence issued by the UK, Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man or an EEA state, a blue badge and a concessionary travel pass, such as an older person’s bus pass.

Visit the Electoral Commission website at electoralcommission.org.uk/voterID for the full list of accepted photo ID.

Go to our website for our detailed coverage of which candidates are standing and where and our stories about the different parties, candidates and their policies.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates

Buy Photos

Buy photos online from the Bromsgrove Standard newspaper


Now, every week, you can also listen to a roundup of Bromsgrove & Droitwich Standard Local News