September 29th, 2016

Hat-trick of promotions for Bromsgrove ladies

Hat-trick of promotions for Bromsgrove ladies Hat-trick of promotions for Bromsgrove ladies
Updated: 10:57 am, Aug 09, 2015

BROMSGROVE Ladies claimed a hat-trick of promotions this summer after the E Team sealed the runners up spot in Division Seven.

Following the success of the B and C side last week, it was left to the E Team to secure a third promotion and they did not disappoint, beating Droitwich E 5-1.

Yvonne Priestman with Alison Douglas won both their contests – which was made even more impressive as the latter only returned from holiday at 4am that morning.

Avril Pugh with Naomi Moore were also unbeaten, while Jane Corbett with Fay Giles had a tougher time as they won one and lost one.

Captain Pugh said: “It’s been a great season for the whole squad. The fighting spirit and commitment shown meant I was confident going into this final match that we’d get the points we needed.

“A 5-1 victory exceeded my expectations and just shows the support I’ve had all season.”

Meanwhile, Bromsgrove Men’s C Team claimed the bragging rights as they saw off David Lloyd Bromsgrove B 4-2 in a hotly-contested Division Five contest.

Both John Dudek with Jack Walters and John Casey with Tim Wright had one victory and one loss. However Voitek Niedzwiedz and Trevor Errington sealed the victory by winning both their contests in two sets.

This result keeps their slim promotion prospects alive and captain Casey added: “It’s always good to beat your local rivals and despite David Lloyd performing well we showed we had the edge and depth in out team to take the win.”

*IT WAS a golden week at Barnt Green Sports Club as the tennis teams registered a triple promotion, sealing two league titles in the process.

The Mixed B Team clinched a 4-0 win over Bewdley to become champions while the Ladies A Team secured promotion thanks to an emphatic 5-1 thrashing of Evesham A.

The week was then rounded off perfectly by the Men’s B Team who bettered the winning draw required to seal the title in beating Pershore B by 6-0.