Online Editions

20th May, 2022

Remember a lost loved one with Mortons' virtual Tree of Light Service

Tristan Harris 2nd Dec, 2020 Updated: 2nd Dec, 2020

A TREE of Light Remembrance service will be held virtually so people can remember lost loved ones and reflect on happy days and times.

Mortons funeral directors usually organises the event in the weeks before Christmas so people can write a message on a memorial star placed on the Tree of Light at its premises in Northfield.

This year it will have to be done differently because of the pandemic.

Members of the community can request a memorial star ahead of the filming on Sunday, December 6, when it will be available to view or download at Mortons’ website.

Mortons’ managing director Sarah Case said: “After a tough year for us all, it was so important for us to continue with our annual Tree of Light service.

“We want to provide solace to the community, by paying tribute to the loved ones they have lost.

“It’s a chance for us all to join together as we share in each other’s grief and comfort one another.”

This is the 12th year Mortons has held its remembrance service and during that time it has raised more than £12,000 for charity.

Proceedings will begin with the Smith family placing a memorial star on the Tree of Light in honour of Christine Smith – beloved wife to Michael and adored mother to Martha and Toby – who sadly passed in September aged just 41.

Charitable donations are not required, although those wanting to make a contribution are invited to donate to Mortons’ charity partners whose missions are more poignant this year than ever – the Salvation Army and Mind.

To honour a loved one with a memorial star on Mortons’ Tree of Light or to donate, visit or call 0121 476 9111.


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Bromsgrove Standard

Property Finder 24/7

Search for properties in Worcestershire, Warwickshire and the West Midlands