Prime Minister Theresa May wins no confidence vote - The Bromsgrove Standard

Prime Minister Theresa May wins no confidence vote

Tristan Harris 12th Dec, 2018 Updated: 12th Dec, 2018   0

PRIME Minister Theresa May tonight survived the no confidence vote.

The result saw 200 Conservative MPs vote in her favour and 117 against.

Earlier this morning Bromsgrove MP Sajid Javid showed his backing for the PM.

Mr Javid, who is joint favourite with one bookmaker at 9/2 to be next to take the top role, tweeted: “Right, vote over. Time to come together, deliver Brexit and so much more.”

Earlier he tweeted: “The last thing our country needs right now is a Conservative Party leadership election.

“Will be seen as self-indulgent and wrong.

“PM has my full support and is best person to ensure we leave EU on 29 March.”

Rules of the Conservatives’ 1922 Committee say MPs are now not able to challenge the PM for at least another year.

Mrs May vowed to ‘fight the vote with everything she had got’.

She warned a new Prime Minister would have to scrap or extend Article 50 and could lead to the whole Brexit process being delayed or even stopped.



Advertise with the Bromsgrove Standard to reach your audience

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Bromsgrove Standard