September 25th, 2016

Spirit of Bromsgrove finalists announced

Spirit of Bromsgrove finalists announced Spirit of Bromsgrove finalists announced
Updated: 9:44 am, Apr 08, 2016

THE FINALISTS in this year’s Spirit of Bromsgrove Awards have been announced ahead of the glittering ceremony at Artrix on April 19.

The accolades are aimed at recognising those who have made a difference to the district and they are awarded in three categories – Sport, Arts and Community.

Lorraine Aspland, Philip Duffy, and Sophie Abrahall will battle it out for Outstanding Sports Volunteer.

In the Outstanding Sports Coach awards Alan Gormley, Jon newton and Roy Gibson have made the final list.

Outstanding Sports Club nominees include, Bromsgrove Bowls Club, Bromsgrove Gymnastic Club and Bromsgrove Tennis Club.

Outstanding Community Sports Project has seen Bromsgrove junior parkrun, Ian Northcott and Make it Like Mandeville make the shortlist.

The Outstanding Arts Organisation nominees are Artrix, Blackwell Concert Band and Bromsgrove Festival.

David and Kay Morris, Pat Tansell, Tony Turpin are up for Outstanding Arts Individual.

The Outstanding Youth Arts Organisation final three includes Artrix Learning and Engagement, Boys Make Noise and Bromsgrove Area Music Centre.

Amily Bridge, Isabelle Young and Jasmine Faulkner are in the running for Outstanding Young Person in he Arts while the Mary White Lifetime Achievement Award in the Arts will go to either Jennie McGregor-Smith, Jim Page or Kate Shaw.

Vying for the Outstanding Community Organisation title are Alvechurch Picnic in the Park, Starlight Café and Community Centre and Bromsgrove’s Willows Hedgehog Rescue.

Mohammed Naeem Arif, Molly and Wendy Molloy and Tony Maslen will contest the Outstanding Community Individual award while the Outstanding Young Person in the Community last three includes Dan Owen, Daniel Bartram and Leila Waring.

In the running for Youth Community Organisation are Dodford Children’s Holiday Farm, Rubery’s Got Talent, YMCA Worcestershire (Bromsgrove), while the Safer Bromsgrove Award will see the Bromsgrove Association of Neighbourhood Watches, Bromsgrove Community First Responders or Bromsgrove Street take home the top prize.