September 27th, 2016

Bromsgrove councillors Jones and Glass get the nod

Bromsgrove councillors Jones and Glass get the nod Bromsgrove councillors Jones and Glass get the nod
Updated: 1:06 pm, May 20, 2016

IT WAS all change at Bromsgrove District Council on Wednesday when Coun Helen Jones took the chain from Coun Caroline Spencer and Malcolm Glass was voted in as the vice chairman.

Both councillors were voted in to their new posts by 17 votes to 12 after against other nominees Coun Michael Thompson and Coun Les Turner respectively.

Coun Jones, whose victory coincides with her ninth anniversary at the council, said: “A lot of plans are already in the pipeline. I’m feeling ready to take on the challenge.”

Every chairman is asked to nominate a charity of their choice. Coun Jones said: “I have a soft spot for children with autism so I have nominated Sunfield Children’s Home.

“There are little things they need which would make a huge difference to their lives.”

Georgina Forrest, partnership development manager at Sunfield, said: “We are absolutely thrilled to be nominated as the chosen charity.

“We are very proud of the work that we do, but we feel we can do more to get ourselves on the map.

“It’s great more people locally are going to find out about the work that our staff do.”

Following Rita Dent’s departure from the Cabinet, Margaret Sherrey has incorporated new responsibilities as Portfolio Holder for Economic Development, Regeneration and the Town Centre which opened up an opportunity for Coun Karen May to step into the role of Health and Wellbeing Portfolio Holder. She will also handle Community Safety and Partnerships.

Speaking about her time as Chairman Caroline Spencer said: “It’s a good time to stand down.

“I’ve met so many groups I didn’t know existed like volunteers who have given so much inspiration with the work they do.

“Bromsgrove should be proud of all the volunteers we have.”

Coun Glass said: “I wasn’t expecting this at all until a week ago.

“The thing closest to my heart is job creation and economic development.”

Les Turner was also nominated for the position of vice chairman by Coun Baxter, while Coun Michael Thompson’s name was put forward for the position of Bromsgrove District Council Chair by Coun Chris Bloore.